Navratri is a Hindu festival that involves nine nights (and ten days) and is celebrated every year in the autumn. It is observed for different reasons and celebrated differently in different parts of India Theoretically, there are four seasonal Navratri. However, in practice, it is the post-monsoon festival called Sharada Navratri that is celebrated in the honor of the divine Devi Durga.